LEAD Public Schools is thrilled to announce that Sarah Best (LEAD Academy High School), Kirsten Lindquist (LEAD Cameron), Katelyn Ippensen (LEAD Southeast Middle), Hannah Knox (LEAD Southeast Middle) and Samantha Levy (LEAD Southeast Middle) are five of the 49 Blue Ribbon Teacher award winners announced this week by Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools (MNPS), in concert with the Nashville Public Education Foundation and Nashville’s Agenda Steering Committee.

The Blue Ribbon program aims to recognize top teaching talent in public schools. Our five teachers join Melissa Martens, a LEAD Academy math teacher, who was recognized in 2016. 

"Our Blue Ribbon teachers are outstanding role models for both our students and their peers," said LaVoe Mulgrew, Head of Schools for LEAD Academy, LEAD Cameron and LEAD Southeast. "We are thrilled that they have received this prestigious award.  Not only are they outstanding classroom instructors, but they also care deeply for their students' well being. They share a commitment to our mission to prepare all of students for college and life through rigorous instruction and by forging trusting, positive relationships with their students."

According to the MNPS news release issued Thursday: “winners are determined following a rigorous selection process that included a review of evidence of outstanding teaching practices by a team of experts. Applications of semi-finalists are then reviewed by a specially-convened community selection panel. This year, the focus was on recognizing teachers doing outstanding work in one of three areas – literacy instruction, support of English Language Learners and teacher leadership.”

Thank you, Sarah, Kirsten, Katelyn, Hannah and Samantha, for all you do in the name of LEAD and our students and families. Congratulations to all the Blue Ribbon award-winning teachers across Davidson County and Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools!